"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The presented letter recommends that making as mandatory to take driver’s education course at Center for all students. As discussed below, the author of the letter relies on several critical assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive without further evidence in support.

To begin with, the author assumed that all accidents are mainly caused by teenage drivers without presenting evidence thereof. However, it is not clear to assure that teenagers’ lack of knowledge about driving was the main reason of these accidents. Even if there were several numbers of accidents which teenage drivers are involved, most teenagers could be victims of the accidents. Also, the number of accidents in past two years are not specifically provided by the author, even though the number is critical whether the situation is important or not. As the word ‘several’ has subjective characteristic, the author has to provide numerical data of the accidents to make his argument more impartial. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to the main cause of accidents and statistics of the number of accidents in the past two years required to strengthen author’s statement.

Furthermore, the author’s assumption on situations of parents in Centerville also relies on tenuous evidences. First, the author didn’t present how many parents are not suffering from lack of time to teach their children to drive. If the number of parents in this situation is not significant, letting parents to teach their teenage children could be possible solution for this issue. Also, the author’s groundless assumption on financial status of parents could be weakness of his assertion. There is no data about how many parents are not available to afford tuition for driving schools, and whether the number of parents in this situation takes the majority or not. Accordingly, more specific evidences on status of parents in Centerville have to be presented to make the author’s argument persuasive.

Even if the gravity of accidents caused by teenagers is severe, and parents are not able to support their children by teaching themselves or sending them to driving schools, the author’s solution that attending related courses at the high scold could not be the only and best solution to this issue. If road conditions in the town are not in the best condition and rate of accidences caused by adult drivers are also high, spending more budget on maintaining and reconstructing road condition could be better solution. Also, providing vouchers to take online driving courses could be a possible alternative instead of sending all students to the high school to for driving education. Taking online courses would be more convenience for children because these courses are accessible in any places. Therefore, the author has to consider if there are any other alternatives to provide the solution for the alleged problem for the purpose of improving the safety for teenagers.

In sum, the author rests his case on a number of assumptions that may not be accurate. Consequently, further evidences pointed above and presenting alternative solutions can strengthen the author’s argument substantially.