Argument Topic:
The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.
"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would
be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have
been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled
material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of
other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent
survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment
to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."
Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and
explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.
The chairperson of the west egg town council in his memorandum concludes that the because of the
town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in their landfill will last for considerably
longer period. It leaves so many questions unanswered and without knowing these answers one can't
accede to it.
Firstly, the chairperson is saying that two years ago, consultants predicted that landfill will be full with
garbage in two years and as we don't know about consultants but it may happen that they are saying
this on so many other factors which the chairperson was not able to recognize and it may be true that it
is a high time for searching for the new way of garbage disposal. He is further saying that recycling have
been twice but of how much's? For example before two years ago if recycling was only 2% of the total
garbage than twice recycling will not improve the condition in an effective way and even it is not
specified that how much tons of garbage is being recycled?
Secondly, the chairperson is telling that recycling will increase because of the charges will double, but
what they are charging today? If they are charging very small amount today than double of it will not
make a significant effect to reduce the garbage disposal and one can't say without proper evidence that
price will increase for sure. Even the people living nearby area might not give the charge rather than
they dispose it by themselves as well so this argument is invalid.
Thirdly, it is said that over 90% responded to do more recycling in the future but how can we believe
that the survey was genuine? And who’s of 90%? We don’t know that survey was conducted for how
many people, and where it was conducted. Without knowing specific evidence we can't say that the
landfill will last longer even though we are supposed to see if the population is going to increase or not?
Increase in population will lead to even more garbage disposal.
Therefore i will conclude that the conclusion written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council is
based on so many assumptions and without any support of specific evidence so one can't surely agree
with it without knowing certain unclear answers.