argument:Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, how

The author asserts that the Palean basket might not be uniquely made by Palean people since it was discovered in the near village, Lithos. He supports his argument saying that a huge river is found between the neighboring villages. The argument seems convincing at the first glance, however, it is unpersuasive as it is based on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author assumes that the river was deep and broad in the ancient time as now. However, it is possible that the level of the river was much lower in the ancient days. Paleans didn't need any boat and they crossed on their foots.If so, the fact that there was no boat doesn't necessarily guarantee that there was no communication between villages. Therefore, the author should provide information related to the river level in the ancient days to strengthen its argument.

Second, even considering that the river was at the same level as now, the author presumes that Paleans could have crossed the Brim river only by boat. However, there could have been other means to cross the river. They could have used a stone bridge linking the two villages. Using different means the basket could have been imported to Lithos village across the river. Therefore, the author should consider other ways of transportation except a boat to substantiate its argument.

Third, the author takes as granted the discovery by archaeologists with no discretion. Only one basket was founded in the entire Lithos village. The unusual finding of one basket poses several possibilities about its origin. It could have been that the basket was flowed down to Lithos village from Palea village. Moreover, it should be considered that the boat could have been missing or decayed after a long time. Therefore, the author should provide more information about the recent discovery to support its argument.

To sum up, the author presumes that the origin of Palean basket might not be exclusive to Palean given that it was found in the near village as well. The author should provide information related to the different levels of the river between two time periods, possible means of transportation between villages, and the appropriate interpretation of the discovery to improve its argument.