In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

In this argument, the author has stated the problem of the number of acidents those are taking place in the Prunty County even after lowering the speed limits. He feels that, following the similar steps as of Butler County like increasing lane widths, improving visiblity at dangerous turns will help reduce the number of accidents in Prunty County. While doing so, the author is giving such a conclusion without examining or taking into consideration various other factors that might be causing the accidents.

First of all, the author mentions that the Prunty County has lowered the speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. Now, there is no evidence mentioned, that all the accidents have taken place on county highways itself. These accidents may be taking place on city streets or small roads connecting different localities of the County. Therefore, a statistics of the number of accidents taking place on which roads of the Prunty County will be very helpful to reach a well-informed decision.

Later, the author advises to undertake the similar road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. While providing this advice, the author misses a very important factor that might be a reason for the increased accidents in the Prunty County : weather. It is possible that the weather of the Prunty County is always cloudy and foggy. May be it rains very frequently there and therefore, despite good road conditions, accidents take place due to bad weather most of the time. Also, the author again suggests to resurface rough highways, and as mentioned earlier, we have no evidence that the accidents taking place are on the highways itself. So, resurfacing the highways might be in vain, if the accidents are taking place on the local roads.

Lastly, the author mentions that the major Butler County roads have speed limit of 55mph and yet reported 25 percent fewer accidents than five years ago. In this statement, the author mentions the term "reported". There is a possibility that the Butler County traffic police levies a hefty fine on the ones involved in the accident, and hence, the public refrains from reporting the accidents. Reported accidents may not be the actual number of accidents taken place in the Butler County.

Therefore, looking at the possibilities mentioned in the above passages and some important factors which are not being taken into consideration, the author should get the answers for them and then based on the data and statistics and actual scenarios, reach a well-informed decision that whether following the similar steps like of Butler County to reduce the number of accidents is going to prove helpful for the Prunty County.