The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.

The author puts forward an argument that illegal immigrants pose threat to a country and a country should put their full effort in sending them back but the premises on which the argument is based on is highly flawed and does not support the conclusion the author comes to. It makes a couple of assumptions which do not seem convincing enough.

Firstly the author mentions that illegal immigrants endanger the economy and national identity but fails to give some statistics on which the author made such premise. It is possible that the illegal immigrants might be some very intelligent people who had no chance but to fleed their country and thus can prove to be rather resourceful than being criminal. Without the lack of any statistics to support it is unjustified to consider this as a truth. It might be possible that the nation has a high crime rate in general and is not dependent on the amount of illegal immigration happening.

It would also have helped which country in specific has the author based his argument on and why. It is possible that this might be true for one country but might not be other.What about the countries from which people are fleeding out. Does this still hold true there? It would thus have been helpful if the author would have mentioned the countries which was the reference source for them. This is important to know as laws change from country to country. And it is possible that one country might have such laws which supports the illegal immigrant and doing crimimal activity would not be advantageous for them. Thus without knowing the country laws it is hard to say if illegal immigrants will always go into crime or harm the economy.

The author also just blatantly implies that all illegal immigrants pose threats. But without any crime statistics this argument just seems flawed and biased. Any reliable and sourceful survey would have helped in making the argument stronger. Is might be possible that the crime rate is genrally higher in the nation and the people doing the crimes are not at all illegal immigrants but rather the localities of the country only.

It would also have helped if author would have mentioned the amount of illegal immigration happening and included more information about the diversity of the people immigrating. Factors like their age, education status, assets they have, their health status etc, would have helped a lot in understanding the illegal immigrants situations and whether they are even capable of doing such things. For instance if a lot of illegal immigrants are old people, it is highly unlikely that they would be any threat to the local folks of the country.

Thus in conclusion the author makes a generic argument based on premises which have no reliable source and is not convincing enough. There were a lot of assumptions made which makes the argument weak thus making it sound flawed.