The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The write up here argues about the way city X can save their expense from electric bill. Though the recommendation given here seems plausible at first glance, it has some serious flaws which has already weakened the proposal. The flaws are identified, incoprporated and possible statements which could have been strengthen the proposal are given below.

Firstly, the proposal is given for reducing the electric cost of town X only by switching to LED lights. The flaw here is clearly found and that is why a town should consider only switching the bulbs for the only factor of reduction of the electric bill? Is there any survey or research findings that the electric bill is only increased by the usage of lights?The expense can also be reduced by using less of electrical tools like washing machine or electric oven. As there is no clear indication of the factor/s which can play significant role/s in reducing the expense, it will be imprudent to consider that only shifting to a different type of bulbs will be fruitful in order to decrease the costs. The argument could have been strengthened if there was a mention about any statistical information regarding the relation of light usage with the electric expenditure.

Secondly, no direct information could be retrieved from the argument about how the shift in bulb or lights will result into the minimization of the electricity bill. There is only information about the LED light being burned out brighter than the existing one. It can be inferred from the passage that the two types of bulbs cost similar, so depending only one distinguishing factor, which might not have any significance in reducing the spending on electricity, the proposed suggestion cannot be implemented. The indication of the price difference and varience in energy usage would have been regarded as strong statement for the given situation.

Finally, the city council has considered the public buildings only. But how can we consider that only the public building can come forward in the savings of electrcity spending? The quantity of public buildings is not mentioned thus we can not decide that only public buildings can contribute in this initiative. In all the households, corporate buildings, restaurants, educational institutions the proposed suggestions should be implemented as this will result into the aggregate reduction of the City X's electric expenditure.

In a nutshell, the council of town X should consider all other factors that might corroborate their proposed initiative. They should conduct significant research on the factors affecting the electricity expenditure of City X, should properly calculate the cost of switching to LED lights from the incandescent bulbs and obviously the findings from the research conducted should be applicable and implemented for all kind of private, commercial, public and educational institutions and thus I believe the savings from electric bill will increase dramatically.