The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt portrays an argument between two competitors related to fashion business who are going to open their new stores in the growing suburb area with increased population and decent median income. However, while their claims about attaining individual success in that area might hold water, there are several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

Firstly, is the initial population of the suburb a high number? If it is not a great number, a 50% increase of the total population of that area will still be a low number, leading to a insignificant number of potential customers. So, the assumption that increased population will bring about more profit becomes invalid.

Secondly, what kind of people live in that suburb? It is possible that the increased number of the population are just kids who do not contribute to the earnings. Instead, they have other relatively expensive basic needs, such as, diapers, baby foods etc. which are more important than fashion. So, these increased population will surely not going to contribute to the profits of either Namen or Roscoe.

Lastly, what is the range or average income of the people living in the growing suburb of Salem? The high value of median income does not necessarily points out the solvency of the residents. It is possible that the income range is very high- a large number of people are very poor while a large number are very rich. In this way, the median of income can be high, and still the number of people able to spend money on fashion along with other basic human needs will be low. Also, it is not mentioned in the prompt if this people with better income are willing to spend their money on fashion. It is possible, that with their higher incomes, they like to travel to other parts of the world or may be buy new homes as it is a new residential area with probabilities of cheap lands and apartments.

If these questions are answered with solid data and honest surveys, the two fashion companies can deduce their profitability from the new store established in the growing suburb.