The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author mentions that from the data survey of high school maths and science teachers, the teachers at Marlee reported assigned homework no more than twice a week and this has resulted in their students earning more grades. In contrast, the teachers at Sanlee have assigned daily homework to students and this has not proved as an effective strategy as it is concluded that Marlee students performed better and produced better grades than Sanlee students and thus, the writer came to the conclusion that high school teachers should assign homework no more than twice a week. However, before coming to this conclusion, this recommendation would need to be properly evaluated.

To begin with, the author assumes that Marlee high school teachers assign home work twice to three times per week because this is what is reportd and backed up by the available data. But, is it possible that the Marlee high school teachers give assignments daily and do not report this information as it has become a quotidan task? That is, is their a likelihood of a scenerio of homework assigned but is not reported by the Marlee high school teachers? If this can happen, then the argument has been severely weakened and such conclusion cannot be drawn that Marlee students perform better with less assigned homework.

Secondly, could there be other factors that has proved to affect the grades of the Marlee students other than the report of less home work given? For example, the quality of their classroom, the environment in which exams are held, the skill of teachers that provided for students, all of these could be factors that ultimately lead to better grades of students in Marlee . Is there a possibility that the classrooms or centers for learning are poorly equipped thus leading to lesser grades of the Sanlee students?. A report on the learning environment of both districts would be crucial and a huge part of the analysis of whether or not the homework is the sole reason that the students at the Marlee district performed better. if this is not a case of homework, but a poorly equipped environment that led to less grades of Sanlee students, then this argument does not hold water and has been weakened.

In conclusion, homework could be just a factor among the various other factors affecting the grades of Marlee and Sanlee students, more surveys would need to be carried out, and the consistency and truthfulness of the data filled by the respondents would need to be properly evaluated to form a cogent argument and to conclusively say that homework is the sole reason could be a far fetched from the truth and might be too much of a leap.