The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument makes an interesting proposal that teachers in our high school should assign homework at most twice a week because in a survey, Marlee's students who have assigned math and science homework no more than two or three days a week get better grades than Sanlee's students who have math and science homework everyday. While it may be true that too much homework may be counterproductive to the overall learning of students, the argument lacks some specific evidence, and thus requires a closer look.

To begin with, the argument declares that the Sanlee teachers assign math and science homework more frequently than Marlee teachers, with the hidden assumption that Marlee students have less homework than Sanlee students. However, there is no specific evidence to it. For example, the quantity of both school's homework is unknown. The homework assigned in Marlee is certainly possible to be more than that in Sanlee. And there might be other homework assigned for Marlee students not by their math and science teachers, but by there headmasters. We just do not know. These assumptions, if true, will largely weaken the argument.

Comparing between Sanlee and Marlee students, the argument implies that the talent of students in these two schools are analogous. But the argument's paucity in relative evidence is overt. If the Marlee students get better grades doing less homework, it will be reasonable to assume that they are generally smarter than Sanlee students. In this situation considering only the amount of homework can be irrational. Even if Sanlee student's talent is tantamount to that of Marlee students, talent of students in our school is another story. To enhance its point, the argument may benefit from collecting the evidence that students in three schools are of equal talent in learning.

Finally, the argument claims that Marlee students earn better overall grades, suggesting that they generally have better grades than Sanlee students in all subjects including math and science. Unfortunately, there is no solid corroboration to this. Had Sanlee students be doing more math and science homework than Marlee students but get worse overall grades, it would be likely that they spent too much time on math and science that although getting better grades in math and science, they were surmounted by Marlee students in all other subjects. If this proves to be authentic, then reduce homework in all subjects can be besotted. This potential evidence can seriously undermine the argument.

In summary, the argument lacks evidence about the amount of math and science homework, the talent of students and the corresponding grades of the students' math and science grades. Therefore, it cannot effectively back its proposal.