The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The survey from two schools suggested that students who receive less homework perform better in terms of overall grades and less possibility to repeat their year. Therefore, the recommendation is made to limit the homework assignments to achieve better performance. However, it requires more evidences to claim the recommendation to be valid, which I will explain further.

First, lots of factors contribute to better performance, such as teachers' quality, demography of students, as well as other relevant resources, like enough facilities to make proper scientific experiments. Therefore, it is premature to claim the outcome of better performance only results from one factor: the frequency of homework assignments. Instead, more other aspects should be examined to locate the major factors before suggesting any recommendation.

Second, though the frequency of homework assignments may play certain role to affect the performance. It is unclear whether the frequency is the main issue. There might be other reasons, such as the quality of the homework assignment, or the relevance of the homework to the tests. In fact, two phenomenon happened at the same time doesn't guarantee any causation, not even correlation, so more investigation on other aspects relating to homework should be done before making any recommendation.

Third, it also stated that less frequent homework provide students more time to concentrate on individual's learning which leads to a better performance. Again, there is no any supporting data to make this statement valid. Fewer frequency of the homework assignment doesn't mean less effort to be put into the accomplishment of the homework. Instead, the loading of the homework may be exactly the same as the daily homework assignment. If that's the case, then the statement for more individual learning time for less frequent homework will be no longer justified. Therefore, more evidence on comparison of homework time spending between students of two schools will be required for making further conclusion.

To sum up, more evidences are necessary relating to a broader background, such as teachers' quality and demography of students, before narrowing the factor to homework. Also the details of the homework assignment is required, like the homework quality and relevance, so that we can know further whether the frequency is a real main issue. Last, the time spending of the homework is also needed to finalize a more reasonable conclusion. Overall, only more evidences can prove a suitable result.