Essay topics: The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following

recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

The argument is about the internet usage from workstations for recreational activities. The vice president of human resource at Climpson industries has stated that the company should implement electronic monitoring of employees. He also has mentioned about taking strict actions regarding the working hours that are hampered due to recreational activities such as shopping, games and has suggested that such employees should be punished for the same. He makes an assumption that implementing such rules can prevent employees from wasting time ,foster better work ethic which will lead to better efficiency and add up to the profit. The argument sounds pretty convincing at the vice presidents point of view. But looking deep into it the argument has major unjustified assumptions and loopholes.

Firstly, guiding the employees or even allocating them their work assignments is fair as per the company is concerned. keeping a check on the timeline of work scheduled is also plausible. But interfering with work patterns of the employees will not only steep down the efficiency of the employer but also the quality of work will be affected. Every candidate has their own way of working and completing the work. Some prefer working for a few hours and finishing the job while some like to take their time to time breaks but still complete the task .So continuously alarming the employee of his/ her tasks and nosing the working style will indeed reduce the overall profits.

Secondly, human mind works and performs as per their own functioning. One cannot be expected to work day and night just because the other candidate does. Work patterns that do not allow the employees to take any breaks makes the work look tiresome and uninteresting for them. The employees will neither perform with any interest not give any quality output. In fact they will be in a hurry to finish the job and obviate it. Small refreshment breaks are conducive to better outputs. So the company in fact can allot some specific time for refreshment and not interfere with the way the employee wants to do it. Some may prefer just sipping a cup of coffee and get aside from the computer while some may like to indulge into their personal work on internet.So the vice president can in fact study this work pattern and make any stringent rules for the benefit of company.

Understanding the work pattern and temperament of employees is crucial for the company .But also, the company has to keep thorough watch on the tasks if hampered by this. The refreshment time or the leisure time allotted to the employees should be in balance to the work hours as to which any job assigned does not remain incomplete. Or else there are chances that atmosphere in the overall company becomes indulgent than needed and the employees will not find it necessary to get the job done within the time limit. Hence, the vice president should create a balance between the working hours and leisure hours to keep the working conditions lively and efficient.

To sum up, the memorandum has unquantifiable relevance's without considering the efficiency of the employees working in the company .The vice president can in fact conduct a survey of employees as to manage their timing and a lot them good for themselves as well. Also ,he should garnish the work type that is given to each employee. There are chances that the employees could be getting same time of work every day which has decimated their interest in working and so they find other entertainment sources to avoid the work. Without all these scrupulous analysis and shreds of evidence it would not be justified to imply any rules in the company.