THE FOLLOWING APPEARED IN AN ARTICLE WRITTEN BY DR. KARP, AN ANTHROPOLOGIST. “TWENTY YEARS AGO, DR. FIELD, A NOTED ANTHROPOLOGIST, VISITED THE ISLAND OF TERTIA AND CONCLUDED FROM HIS OBSERVATIONS THAT CHILDREN IN TERTIA WERE REARED BY AN ENTIRE VILLAGE RATHER THAN BY THEIR OWN BIOLOGICAL PARENTS. HOWEVER, MY RECENT INTERVIEWS WITH CHILDREN LIVING IN THE GROUP OF ISLANDS THAT INCLUDES TERTIA SHOW THAT THESE CHILDREN SPEND MUCH MORE TIME TALKING ABOUT THEIR BIOLOGICAL PARENTS THAN ABOUT OTHER ADULTS IN THE VILLAGE. THIS RESEARCH OF MINE PROVES THAT DR. FIELD’S CONCLUSION ABOUT TERTIAN VILLAGE CULTURE IS INVALID AND THUS THAT THE OBSERVATION-CENTERED APPROACH TO STUDYING CULTURES IS INVALID AS WELL. THE INTERVIEW-CENTERED METHOD THAT MY TEAM OF GRADUATE STUDENTS IS CURRENTLY USING IN TERTIA WILL ESTABLISH A MUCH MORE ACCURATE UNDERSTANDING OF CHILD-REARING TRADITIONS THERE AND IN OTHER ISLAND CULTURES.”

First of all, a conclusion taken 20 years back by dr. field which is written and published another anthropologist dr.karp be generalized and compared ? there are chances that the observations made by dr. field 20 years back that children living in the group of islands that includes tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village could have been vise-versa. which makes the argument tenuously weak.

secondly, could we compare the methods of survey done by dr. krap and dr.field ? thre are chances that the method of survey by both doctors which are carried out 20 years apart are completely different which would elicit different result and would make the argument weak.

thirdly, the result obtained b dr.krap is completely opposite by dr.field but it does not allow dr.krap to assume the outcome by his observations to be true and does not assure the dr.fields conclusion to be completely invalid as there is no sufficient evidence of outcome. thus if the it cannot be assumed that the dr.kraps survey is valid and dr.fileds surv ey is invalid. which makes the argument insignificant.

the method used by dr.kraps graduate students cannot be compared to any other methods or there is no standard benchmark st for the comparison of methods and there positive or negative outcome so there is no guarantee of accuracy in dr.kraps interview method carried out by his team of graduates.

Thus to conclude, there are too many unwarranted assumptions in the given prompt which could be only analyzed if the author provides more reinforcing evidence or atleast gives any solid hint which could make the prompt viable. according to given details in prompt it doesn’t hold much of water to viable.