The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

The two kinds of evidence missing in the author's claim are the following - the observations based on which Dr. Fields had made his claims, and the interviews (or citations from it) based on which the author arrived to his conclusions.

For the author to reject Dr. Fields' conclusions, he needs to give the readers a better understanding of what those conlcusions were, and on what observations they were based. He needs to convince the readers that the data he collected from the interviews completely opposed the inferences of Dr. Fields' observations.

Perhaps the observations were not enough to justify that the children in Tertian villages are raised by the entire village. Perhaps the observations were something like these - he saw children staying at other houses, with other elders of the villages, carrying on their daily tasks. But he did not explore the reasons behind these sort of activities. Maybe the children he observed did not have enough resources in their families and the other villages were simply helping them out. Maybe they were related and were just spending sometime with their relatives. Nothing can be said until we know what exactly the observations were.

Even if the observations were not enough for Dr. Fields' conclusions, the author should generalise this case to the entire observation-based methodology of culture study. The author needs to give other examples where observational study has led to false conclusions. Until this is done, the reader cannot be convinced.

Coming to the interviews, as mentioned before, the readers need to be informed of the data collected from the interviews and how it invalidated the inferences drawn from Dr. Fields' observations. Just because the children spend more "time" talking about their biological parents does not guarantee that they were raised by them. For example, the interviews could prove that the children justified why they were living with the other villagers (building on the initial possible scenario), and how it is not a traditional practice, but due to financial reasons they had to be take help from other villagers. Perhaps they spend so much time explaining why their biological parents are not equipped to raise them. Again, the actual interview data would be needed. The author should quote the interviews, and also present some statistics - about how many children his group interviewed, and perhaps some generic questions to which the responses can be described in numbers.

Until concrete data is provided, one cannot be convinced of this argument - neither of the rejection of Dr. Fields' methods, nor of the acceptance of Dr. Karp's methods.