The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/ or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this article concludes that the decline in fitness levels in the region of Corpora is a result of the decline in economy. The author suggests that if economy improves, fitness levels of the citizens will improve as well. Although this argument might sound logical, it is fraught with assumptions that if proven wrong significantly undermine the authors main conclusion. High dependence on evidence without any indication of proper validation, vague language, and the assumption of causal relationships with a scientific base are some of the weaknesses of the arguments used. Unless the author provides more sound evidence to support his/her main thesis, his/her arguments remain unconvincing.

First and foremost, the author asserts a decline in fitness levels compared to twenty years ago. However, she states that twenty years ago higher percentage of people met the fitness standards as defined then, whereas a lower percentage of people meet these standards as defined today. From this statement, it becomes clear that there is no way to see whether these standards have changed through the years. If they have changed, then the comparison of the two groups of people is invalid as fitness is not conceptualized in the same way as in the past. The standards might have become stricter through the years. To strengthen the argument the author should provide more information about how the fitness standards differ in the two periods of time and possibly convert the meaning of fitness levels of the past in today’s standards. Only this way the comparison would be meaningful, and the author could infer that fitness of the citizens has declined.

Additionally, the author attempts to make a connection between computer ownership and better fitness in the citizens of Corpora to argue that computer ownership is not connected with a decline in fitness levels as usually assumed. She suggests that citizens of Corpora who are more likely to own computers are more physically fit, and thus spending too much time in front of computers is not associated with fitness. However, other factors might play a role in this apparent relationship, for which evidence is not presented. For example, it might be the case that these regions of Corpora have better places to walk and do sports and, therefore, although citizens do spend time with their computer, they compensate for its negative effects by doing more sports. The author makes her conclusion without properly considering other factors that might explain this apparent lack of association.

Finally, and most importantly, the author assumes a causal relationship between the decrease in fitness-related low expenditures with a decline in economy. Although this argument seems logical not adequate evidence is provided to establish a causal relationship. One explanation of lower spending in fitness related products and services might be that citizens are busy with other activities or their employment which makes them less likely to prioritize their physical fitness. Another explanation could be that physical health is not highly praised in the region and therefore citizens are less motivated to pursue it. Unless the author provides more evidence to support this causal relationship, perhaps conducting a survey about the citizens’ attitudes toward fitness and the effect of their financial situation on their decision not to exercise, the argument remains unsubstantiated.

In conclusion, the improperly validated arguments of the author make the conclusion unconvincing. More information is needed to suggest that improvement in economy would be inevitably linked to an increase in physical fitness of the citizens.