The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the health magazine that, eating habits of the people has changed and now it is more close to government nutritional recommendation they did ten years ago. Along with that consumption of food containing kiran has also increased which helps to reduce cholesterol. This results decrease in the sales of sulia, a food that few healthy citizens regularly eat. However, before coming to any conclusion some question must be answer.

To begin with, how many people is more concern about their health? Or what has happened in past 10 years that citizen of Forsythe has adopted healthier lifestyle? Maybe majority of the people are concern about their healthful lifestyle but there are few of them who are still not concern about their lifestyle. So statement “The citizen of Forsythe has adopted more healthful lifestyle” is not completely true and it does not hold water. Maybe people have seen more number of deaths in their region due to unhealthy lifestyle which has force them to improve their lifestyle. It may be coincidence that people are following same lifestyle which was recommended by the government ten years ago because it is blatant that people don’t remember exact lifestyle government recommended following ten years ago.

Furthermore, what is the prove that, sales of food product containing kiran has increased due to change in lifestyle of people? Or people purposely include such food in diet to reduce cholesterol? Maybe, food containing kiran test good so many people has started including it in their lifestyle without knowing that it reduce the cholesterol. Maybe that’s the reason of increasing the sale of kiran, because everyone is not a nutritionist or doctor so it is blatant that everyone doesn’t know kiran reduce cholesterol. If it is true then, most of the people have adopted healthier lifestyle without knowing it.

Finally, what is the prove that, reduced in sales of sulia is due food containing kiran? Or on what bases it has been said that increase in demand of food containing kiran has reduce the sale of sulia?

Maybe people those who were concern about their health may have found another and more effective food which they are consuming to maintain and bolster their healthy lifestyle due to this sales of sulia has decreased. Or maybe quality of sulia has decrease which result in decrease in the sales of sulia. If all these assumptions are true then, it has nothing to do with food containing kiran.

In conclusion, evidence provided in the magazine, that support this claim, are dubious as well as erroneous. If more evidence was provided in that health magazine then, it would have strengthened the argument