The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of a health newsletter claims that in order to reduce bicycle accidents, governments should enforce bicycle education on society rather than using helmets. However, the argument is not cogent enough to enforce the recommendation. While the argument may have some merit, because of the unaddressed assumptions, the argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

Firstly, the author assumes that citizens have increased usage in helmet gear only to feel safe. The author provided evidence stating that in a ten-year period, the usage of helmets went from 35% to a current state of 80%. The author assumes that the only reason helmets have increased is due to a sense of feeling safe. However, the evidence does not support the assumption. A smaller percentage of people using helmets ten years ago may be due to a small population of bicycle riders. Therefore, it could be that 80% of the people today using helmets is due to an increasing population of bicycle riders. If that were the case, then the evidence would not support the assumption. What the author should do is provide data or an open-ended survey that specifies the reason why more people are using helmets than ten years ago. If not, then the assumption would be unwarranted.

Secondly, the author assumes that an increase in bicycle accidents occurred because more people are taking risks. The author provides evidence that in the same ten-year period, 200% of bicycle accidents increased. While the evidence may prove that bike riders are more risky, the evidence does not support the assumption. Perhaps, within the ten-year period, more cars have appeared on the road. Car drivers may be the ones causing the accidents while bike riders are taking safety measures. Therefore, the assumption is unwarranted. The author must provide substantial evidence proving the bike riders are taking more risks, such as reports on the reasons why accidents have occurred. If the reports state that bicycle accidents have occurred due to reckless car drivers, then the assumption holds no merit.

Lastly, the author assumes that helmets do not contribute to safety. The author provides evidence that despite the increase in helmet usage, 200% of accidents have increased. However, the evidence is not substantial enough to support that helmets do not provide safety. While accidents may occur, it could be that the helmets are protecting individuals from having severe concussions and brain damage. The author does not provide evidence stating whether or not accidents have led to severe medical injuries. If injuries still remain, then helmets serve no purpose. However, if accidents happened, but injuries were minor due to the helmet usage, then the author’s assumption is unwarranted.

Furthermore, the author argues that education on bike safety is required in order to reduce the number of accidents. However, the unaddressed assumptions would not support the claim. The author must provide evidence, such as data, reports, and surveys that indicate whether increase in helmet usage served no purpose in safety and accidents. If not, then the argument would be faulty.