The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The editor attempts to bridge a relationship between the number of accidents involved by mopeds and pedestrians and the number of mopeds which are rented by rental companies. The conclusion is based on the fact that limiting the number of rented mopeds will lead to fewer accidents. However, on deeper analysis, there are certain important questions unanswered and facts unnoticed, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws that raise doubt about the editor’s conclusion.

First of all, the editor claims that reducing the number of rented mopeds from 50 to 25 in the summer season will lead to 50 percent annual reduction in accidents. At first glance this seems plausible but there is a lack of information. In this case the author attempts that rental companies rent amounts of mopeds larger than 25. The author also claims that rented mopeds are involved in accidents which is an assumption until there are facts about this argument.

In addition, the fact that the population of Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months does not mean that there is a correlation between population and accidents. First, we have to know who is involved in the accidents. Are there significantly more people involved in accidents who increased the population also? There is also a lack of information about the number of accidents in the summer period and the total population in this months. The fact hat the population increases to 100,000 does not say anything about the population in other times. So, it is not possible to say that there is a significant difference between the summer months compared to other parts of the year.

The fact that this move was successful in Seavile will not automatically say that this also will happen in Balmer Island. There is no information known about the both island in terms of factors which are indicated in accidents. We don’t know if the island is quite similar or totally different. In addition, it may be that Seavile undertook other steps to reduce the amount of accidents. Thinking about safer roads, more traffic lights, crossroads or warning signs.

To conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions. The letter must have presented more concrete evidence to substantiate the claim and make the argument more cogent.