The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The topic states that for reducing the number of accidents in Balmer Islands,there should be a decrease in the amount of moped rentals during summer time when population increases to 100,000. In first look,this conclusion of limiting rented mopeds in the city seems simple and logical. However, the author has failed to render strong statiscial evidence or logic for the argument and also fails to prove the direct relationship between rented mopeds and the accidents. The author needs to address certain assumptions before reaching the conclusion.

Firstly,the author has not provided any evidence on how the rented mopeds are the only mode of transportation responsible for accidents.Pedestrian accidents may have several reasons that author needs to take into account. It is more likely that personal vehicles belonging to island's inhabitants may contribute more to accidents since they are used throughout the year while rented moped are used only in summer months.Moreover,the author also needs to extensively check or study the island's traffic system for examining it's efficiency like traffic police presence,working street lights and signal systems at crossings etc.

Furthermore,the author has stated that by limiting the number of rentals,the annual reductions in moped accidents will be 50 percent,inspired from last year's reduction seen in neighboring island with same laws.However,this basis is weak since it has many loopholes which the author needs to consider. It may be possible that numer of mopeds used in Seaville is much higher than Balmer,therefore limiting them may have reduced the accidents by half. But we cannot project the same for Balmer without knowing various statiscial measures like precentage of rental mopeds to total mopeds,rental moped's share in accidents in Balmer.It is likely that the new law may lessen the number of accidents, but a reduction of 50 percent is highly presumptuous.

In conclusion,the argument has several weak points that cannot be overlooked easily which needs to be addressed by the author for convincing the readers. The author also doesn't provide sufficient statistics and decent evidence to support the argument and needs to take important factors into account for proving the direct relation between rental moped and accidents.The author could strengthen his argument by documenting its important premises with data or actual surveys.