The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter states that Batavia government should curtial mil prices in order to protect consumers from excessive milk prices. The recommendation would have some merit but only after answering several overarching questions. Firstly, the information that the number of farmers has increased in 10 years by 25 percent begs the question. How many farmers are now in comparison to ten years ago. It is possible that the number of farmers has increased from 10 to 14 or maybe from 1000 to 1250. The first set of numbers would hardly support the claim of 25 percent increase while the second set could be much more indicative. However, we do not know the actual number to properly validate the recommendation.

Secondly, a letter only mentions a price increase in a single food market "Excello Food Market". What are the prices in other markets? Is "Excello Food Market" a representative of all the markets in Batavia? For that matter we are in the dark to the actual number of Batavia's residents and more importantly how many of those residents regularly frequent the mentioned market? This can be a case of a specialized market which marks up its prices including the milk. In addition, it is a period of ten years in which the price of milk has doubled. Adjusted for the inflation the overall increase in the cost of living it is hardly surprising to see the price of milk increase two fold in such a long time period. It is quite probable that other stores in the city have similar prices. Two time price increase in a ten year period can hardly be the reason for milk price regulation by the local government.

Thirdly, the letter assumes that farmers receive large profits but it does not establish a plausible reason to the claim that supply of milk has increased. How is the supply of milk excessive? How are the profits excessive? What are the profits now in comparison to ten years ago? What about the cost of the milk production now and ten years ago? These are some serious questions that letter does not address and it simply assumes since there are more farmers there is more production and more profit. As mentioned, the letter does not state how many more and how many farmers in total produce milk in Batavia. It is possible that some farmers produce less meaning that the total production has decreased. Again, we do not know. Correct numbers are not provided in the letter.

As a summary, it is clear that letter's recommendation for the Batavia's governemnt to limit milk prices is based on weak claims and many unanswered questions. We do not know how many farmers are now in total, nor how much milk they produce. Also, we do not know what are the prices in other shops. Only by knowing answers to these questions a better judgment can be passed.