The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

This letter from the editor concludes that to improve the business, the skateboarding must be prohibited in Central Plaza. The editors think that the skateboarding is misleading the people to buy other necessary and household things which are sold in the Central Plaza. They have also come to the conclusion that the amount of litter and vandalism has increased due to the same reason. As discussed below, the arguments suffers from several critical flaws and is therefore unpersuasive.

First of all, the survey is of past two years and it is not mentioned that from when the popularity of skateboarding has increased. The main thing is I do not understand the link or logic behind the decreasing of the business due to the increasing of the sell of the skateboard. The reason of the lower selling of the other items may be the decrease in the population of the city or the area. People might be leaving the city more and so there might be the drastic decrease in the business of Central Plaza. Or the people entering the city might be youth in more number who would be interested in the sport like skateboarding so the sell of skateboarding must be high.

The other reason for the decrease in the graph of the selling of other items might be, the change in the quality or the prizes which might not be afforded by the people of the city so they might buy the things from other stores. The inferior quality or high prizes are not accepted by any common person. This does not imply that the prizes of skateboards are also high but the people might choose to buy the skateboards as their own wish and demand. There is no reason for the lower business due to the skateboards.

Thirdly, the editor thinks that the reason for the increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the Central Plaza is the increase in the usage of skateboards. It might be the absence of the workers who are cleaning the Plaza. How can the editor be so confident that skateboard users are necessarily increasing the dirt through the Plaza? There might be other people visiting the Plaza to increase the vandalism. This again cannot be the reason to prohibit the skateboarders in the Plaza.

So in conclusion, the assumptions made by the editor for the lower business are not convincing for the prohibition of skateboarders. In order for better business, the editor should think of other reasons about increasing the same. Due to the above arguments I think that the editors should not apply the rule which they made.