The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues."Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land wi

The writer states that Crust Copper Company(CCC) has prurchased more that 10 thousands square miles of land in West Fredonia tropical nation and started mining brass in that land, which he claims that this minig will cause some negative effects on some endangered animal species, thus will make a catastrophic enviromental disaster. His suggestion to solve this problem is by convincing people not to buy the products by the (CCC) unless they stop their plans of mining. The argument in the letter has many flaws and it is not convincing at all.

First, there is no such evidence that those endangered animals are affected by the mining proccess of copper. There is so much mechanisims in animals to adopt such changes in the surrounding enviroment, so that some animals are less sensitive to pollution rather than others. For example, one of the animals that is very resistent to pollution is scorpion, it can defend itself againest the radioactive pollution, while spiders cannot adopt to just a minor changes in the air temprature. Thus, the argument regarding the relationship between pollution and the endagered species in not correct.

Second, the auther said that the company purchased more that 10000 square miles of land, which is a very small area compared to the whole area that the animals reside in, this argument's logical soundness is weak, because it is easy to the animals to transfer from one area to another if they faced any kind of bother from the mining operatoins. so the writer should give more specific reason to defend this point.

Last point to mention is the solution he suggested, by telling people to stop purchasing the products from (CCC) till they stop their future plans. This reason is very weak because what if the compane export it's products to outside countries? can we access those people outside and tell them about the problem that it makes in our country? of course no. Moreover, it is extremely impossible to make a general opinion againest a big, well reputed company like (CCC), there is no way to do such wide decision toward this company forgetting that there are so much fans of this company. As a result, the writer shold pay attention to the size of the effort he suggest to solve the problem.

In sum, the overall letter is full of falws, not only that the auther did not mention any evidance about how animals are affected by copper mining, but also he forget the ability of animals to change their hometwon easily, and he suggested a very difficult approch to prevent the company from doing it's plans. As the letter stands, it is full of weakness points and it isnot accepted at all.