The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this given argument the author claims that, in young-league sports injuries are more in number of students and also other disadvantages with it so Parkville should stop this organized athletic competition for children under nine. I completely disagree with the author and would argue that sports tournament is have an equal importance as academic. However, on closer analysis of this argument one can easily identify flaws and loopholes that make this argument weaken. These flaws and loopholes are based on the vague assumptions and facts that have been presented in the argument.

Firstly, I would like to point out that in the claim it is given that throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered from injuries. The author assumes that children below nine age are increasing last year without any strong evidence. Perhaps it same number of students or a decrease in the number of students. We do not know about that and there is no evidence given for that claim. These facts would seem insignificant for a reader who reads the argument for the first time, but on closer analysis, it can be said that this fact emerges the weakest link in the given argument.

Secondly, according to the interviews for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure by coaches and parents to win the games. The author sounds equivocal as he denotes that over 40,000 of students suffered from the injuries, the author is trying to prove his claim in two ways. In addition, some experts say that this time could be utilized in academic activities as well. This claim is also not making any sense that all students should have to focus only on the academics. There is no supporting evidence presented in the given argument that can prove statements of the author.

To sum up, as we have seen above, according to that it can be said that the conclusion of the argument sounds unconvincing due to a lack of substantial evidence. To bolster it further, the author must give clear concrete evidence which can help to prove it. Finally, to better evaluate this argument it would be necessary that the author should give more information on why Parkville should discontinue athletic competition for children under nine.