The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The faculty comittee sent a letter to the president of the Seatown university to institute a free-tuition policy for the children of the professors to raise morale bring in more faculities. In support of their proposal they presented a study based near Ocenia University. But this proposal is based on several assumptions. before taking a decisions the merits of this assumptions need to be checked.

Firstly, the study was conducted at nearby the Ocenia University and the location of the university is not stated here. It might be in a different location thus can result in a decision which sounded favourable to the faculty committee. It is not wise just to take a decision based on a study which was conducted elsewhere in a probable different condition. Also, the number of people surveyed are not stated. Thus it does not give a comprehensive idea about the total opinion of the population. There is also this possibility that the faculty comittee might be trying to get more benefits from the university by stating the study.

Secondly, it is assumed that just by giving the tuition waver to the children of the professors will result in high morale and higher retention rate. The living condition and other facilities also have a very cruical impact here. It is possible that the living arrangement near the Ocenia University is very favourable to the professors there. Thus by insituting a tuition free program for their children resulted in higher retention rate. It might not be the same for the area where the Seatown University is situated. If it is in a remote are and devoid of necessary facilities like good transporation system and avaiability of supplies of daily needs, faciulties might not consider the arrangement inspite of having tuition-free program for their children.

Thirdly, it is assumed here that the professors will only become motivated by having free pass on their children college education. Although it is true that varsity fees have become very high and increasing rapidly, but the professor's priority might be different. If a professor have higher salary, favourable working condition, he might be more interested in the job. Because higher salary will enable him to support the fees of his children and favourable workplace condition will boost the interest in working. It has been seen in many management studies that favourable working condition results in higher retention rate.

By judging several underlying assumption of the proposal, it can be said that other factors like salary, living condition, research oppotunity should also be taken under consideration before making a decision about the proposal. Although offering a free-tuition promgram for the college-aged children for the professors has merit to increase morale and attracting new professors, but other options need to explroed before implementing this proposal as it will cost money from the university.