The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The investment advice in heating oil looks reasonable at first glance, in that it mentions the habit of using oil for heating, the strong demand of oil due to the cold weather pattern, as well as the long lasting needs from the current population growth. However, they are made in light of unwarranted assumptions requiring further examinations.

First, it is premature to make future predictions based on tradition or precisely people’s behaviors at a certain period, because people’s behavior can be changed quickly and it is difficult to include the change unless it has happened already. For example, people may tend to use oil for heating at this moment, but with the increase of environmental awareness, it is hard to say for how long periods will people keep this habit. It is highly possible people may gradually abandon the usage of oil and seek for other greener alternatives, which definitely weakens the author's point.

Second, the author states that the cold weather pattern will continue according to the climate forecasters. This statement can be easily challenged, in that no detailed info about the forecast was revealed, such as who are the people to claim this, and how did the forecast has been done, as well as how long has the forecast been predicted, so it truly harms the credibility of the forecast of the cold weather. Further, it is no secret that the climate changes so severely and becomes really unpredictable, like the unstoppable forest fire in AU and Brazil, due to the over development of the earth, so it is questionable to believe the advice based on the climate forecasts, since dramatic changes happen all the time.

Third, it is only known from the advice that the population is growing, but what is unclear is what heating facilities and what type of energy will be installed in the newly-built houses. Though the oli is the traditional energy that is used for the area, it doesn't guarantee the future usage and design is the same. Therefore, it is dubious to claim that the demand of the oil will increase only due to the growth of the house and population, which neglects people’s tendency to change and the facts that other alternatives then oil may be used in the growing housing populations.

To sum up, it clearly shows the author’s logical flaws after examining the underlying assumptions closely. In it, the author makes inaccurate predictions based on people’s current behaviors, and leverages climate forecasters’ statement without further details to back up the credibility. Finally, specious assumption about the increasing consumption of oil resulting from the population growth.