The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client. "Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the investment advice sent to the firm's client, the author urges the reader to invest in Consolidated Industries. The author uses a glut of reasoning in supporting his or her claim. On the surface, the evidence seems reasonable. Further thought proves that more detailed explanations need to be examined.

To begin with, the author readily assumes that what has been used in the past - in this instance, oil for heating fuel - will be used in the future. In a recent Wall Street Journal article, the columnist analyzed the energy industry concluding that the oil industry has lost market share and electricity is increasing it's share exponentially. Perhaps the northeast will continue it's dependence on fuel for heating; we simply do not know. The evidence does not provide ample information to prove that fuel will continue to be the main energy source for heat in future. Therefore, the investor can not use these details to guide their business decision.

Furthermore, the advisory firm cites last year's below-average temperature statistics to support their claim. While it is certainly a compelling data point, the reader of the letter has no way of knowing what that average represents. For instance, if it is a national temperature average it would include extreme environments: inclusive of the tropics and the poles. These areas are outliers and would skew a more representative number. Without further information detailing which average is used to juxtapose the average temperature in the northeast to it's peers, the author does not provide a cogent argument in influencing the investment decision.

Additionally, the firm goes onto reference climate forecasts by Waymarsh University. Waymarsh University released temperature predictions for the next few years, asserting that similar weather patterns will continue. This information reaffirms the authors point, but weather predictions are not accurate. In a recent interview, Neil de Grasse Tyson (famous astrologer) was quoted saying that "technology has advanced, but weather analytics has remained stagnant." His point being that the technology is nearly impossible to predict. Weather is sporadic and presumptions from a University do not provide sufficient evidence to influence the investment dilemma.

In summary, the advisory firm may have made correct assumptions in it's letter to their client, but the investor can not assume they are correct. Alternatively, these presumptions were not backed by sound evidence. The investor will not be able to make an informed investment without facts.