The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client. “Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn the optimistic conclusion, from disjointed and incomplete data, that in the northeastern United States oil demand will increase therefore it's good to invest in Consolidated Industries.

He begins with a statement that homes in northeastern "traditionally" used oil as their major fuel for heating. Here, it's possible that homes were used the oil as fuel but in modern technology there are using something else . Hence, we needs evidence to prove that the homes are still using the oil as their major fuel for heating. Cosequently, if the majority homes are shifted to the other technology for heating than writer can't justify his optimistic conclusion. Futhermore, writer stated that last year region experience only twenty days below the average temprature. Here, writer assumes that in the past there were less days cold than the present. We needs the evidence reagarding number of cold in past and presence. If the number of cold days comared to past doesn't increase than there is no point of increasing demads of the oil. Consequently, people will use the same amount of oil as they were using in the past, which diminish the witer's optimistic conclusion. Also, writer failed to provide the average-temprature, if the average tempratue is too high and temprature below it isn't cold enough than people will not use the heating. Hence, without having the evidence of the temprature data writer can't predict that people will use the oil heating and it will increase the demads for oil.

While mentioning the weather forcasters prediction writer mistakenly diminish his position. As the weather forcasters predict the weather pattern will continue for several more year, we can easily conclude that there will be the same number of days cold in future. Hence, the demands for the oil in future will be same as the present and will not increase as the writer predicted. Also, writer assumes that because of the new homes developments demads of the oil will increase. Here, writer failed to provide any evidence that suggest that this homes will uses the oil as a fuel for the heating system. It's possible that all this homes are developed using the new technology for heating and will not use the traditional heating system using oil. Hence, the demands of the oil will remain the same as it was and if it's true than writer's conclusion will fall apart. Also, there is no statistical data given regarding the new homes. Writer assumes that the total number of the new homes is big enough to increase the demads. If the total number of new homes is just a little fraction of total number of old homes than the increase isn't significant enough to count. Hence, the demads coming from new homes isn't significant enough to jump on the conclusion that it's good to invest in Consolidation Industries.

In genereal, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument beacuse of the complete absence of the evidence needed. No convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy observation that are likely to be incorrect.