The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owners of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex have proposed to make further restrictions on water use in all its buildings, since this action has been effective in the first three buildings. To convince the manager, they mentioned that restricting water flow should help reducing total consumption, and only a few complaints have been received about the matter. However, several questions regarding the details of the policy should be answered, before the argument seems plausible.

To start with, the owners hastily predicts that a decrease in water consumption is to be anticipated, before the actual readings are available. This deduction, however, is based on the underlying assumption that all other factors remain unchanged after the limitation in water flow. It is conceivable that residents tend to extend their shower duration, with the water flow being limited. In addition, the water used for laundry is constant every time. In this case, we can not expect a significant change in water usage. The owners of the Sunnyside Towers should wait until the actual readings are available to carry out further actions.

The owners also mentioned that only a few complaints have been received since the showerheads are modified. However, they have committed the false dilemma that those who didn’t complain do not care about the modification. It is likely that some residents did not complain, because their neighbors did, so they don’t have to make repetitive complaints. There are also possibilities that some residents regard the issue as a temporary malfunction, if the modification has not been publicly announced, in which case numerous complains are likely to flow in after they realized that it’s done on purpose. To solidify their proposal, the owners should answer whether most residents are not exasperated by the modification, otherwise the action might cause serious consequences.

Finally, the author made a false analogy that methods effective for the first three buildings will work well on all other buildings. However, we may ask whether these buildings are similar enough in every aspect to be indeed comparable. For example, if the other buildings have different kinds of showerheads that are expensive to modify, carrying the modification may actually bring about more financial burden to the company. Furthermore, it is likely that the dwellers in other buildings are more affluent, and pay more attention to their home amenities, in which case the action is likely to trigger numerous complaints from the residents.

In conclusion, the owners of the Sunnyside Towers fail to answer several critical questions regarding the proposal. To make the argument more plausible, they should answer whether the modification is indeed effective. Additionally, more solid evidences about the opinions of the dwellers should be provided.