The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the letter, the high school should sponsor the mandatory driving training program to solve the problem of accidents involving teenage drivers. This argument may seem plausible at first glance; however, the argument is based on a number of assumptions regarding the cause of the accidents, the number of Centerville High School students who are involved in the accidents and the willingness of students to take the course. In order to evaluate the argument critically, we need to examine these assumptions carefully.

To begin with, the author assumes that by taking the cources, students will be proficient in driving, reducing the probability of accidents. However, there may be other reasons why there are many accidents have involved teenage drivers in the past two years. For example, it is probable that the traffic condition in and around Centerville is so bad that even excellent driver may not drive safely all the time. As a result, there are many accidents take place every day, and the number of accidents involving teenage drivers only account for a small proporation. Under such circumstances, with the attempt to reduce accidents involving unskilled students, it would not be useful to training students compared with improving the traffic condition.

In addition, even if the assumption mentioned above is true, it is also assumed that the teenagers in the accident are from Centerville High School. However, this might not hold water for the following reasons. Maybe most teenage drivers around this high school are from other schools and they would like to visit their friends in Centerville High School. Or perhaps, these teenagers are even not students. If any of the aforementioned conditions is the case, the training cources to students in Centerville will definitely not help reducing the accidents involving other teenagers.

In addition, even if the training is effective to help reduce the possibilities of accidents, another assumption being made is that the students in Centerville will be willing to learn in the traning course. Although the course is mandatory, it is still likely that the students are reluctant to dedicate to learn. If this is the case, the mandatory training course will not transform them to a safe driver. Likewise, even if they take the course, it is equally possible that the students would like to take risk to drive for fun. If so, they may not apply the knowledge they learn in the course into practice. Consequently, it is of paramount importance to scrutinize this assumption before we can accept the argument.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the author would like to reduce the number of accidents involving teenagers. But this argument, as it stands now, is extremely flawed as it depends on a number of unwarranted assumptions mentioned above.