The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The directors of bargain brand cereals recommend that bargain brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible because the first product, bargain brand breakfast cereal, brought success to the company due to its low price. The memo seems plausible at the moment, there are several logical fallacies that the directors misconstrued.

First, the directors neglect the possibility of situation changing during those years. there could be economical crisis on the previous year, so the people wanted to retrench their expenses. As a result, the purchase of bargain brand breakfast cereal have increased. However, as a year passes, the situation get ameliorated and people may return to their favorites. The directors should examine closely whether anything have changed measuring against the previous year.

Also, the directors didn’t mention an accurate number of price, increasing rate of the customers and the number of customers. The directors indicated that “very low” prices “quickly” drew “many” customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. There is no information about how low the cost is and how many customers changed sides. For instance, 1000 customers would be many, but comparing to entire population of the nation, for example a million, it is very small proportion. To validate the recommendation, the directors should validate those numbers precisely.

Furthermore, the directors didn’t explain whether the continued making profit was increasing or decreasing at the moment. The profit could be still on the side of plus on an entire year, but its quantity could be decreasing, from $100 million per month to $1 million per month. It would unwise to decide to expand the business even though the profit is continuously provided if it is decreasing. The directors should draw appropriate explanation whether the profit is increasing, not shortly but continuously.

Finally, the directors has unwarranted assumption that the success of the selling is due to its low price. There could be other reasons why the bargain brand breakfast cereal was so successful. It could be due to its advertisement, as very popular pop star introduced it as one’s daily meal, or its nutrition is better comparing to other competing companies. In order to make a conclusion considerable, the directors should make the assumption warranted by examining whether there are other reasons why it achieved such success.

In conclusion, the directors should verify and explain precisely several assumptions and data mentioned above.