The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores, it is stated that the best way to reduces expences and and improve the profits in the company is to discountinue stocking the variety of imported cheese. This conclusion is based on the assumptions that the five best selling cheese of the last years cheese is domestic and a survey that has concluded for more preference for domestic cheese. In my opinion, the argument lacks many logical flaws.

Firstly, does the last years trend always true near future.? Is there any gaurantee that people only prefer domestic cheese near future.? There is no fixed answer for this. For example, the famous ticktoker trending right now might not be in trend next month. The loved superstar today might not loved next years. This means people choice are changing. That is why, the choice of the people towards cheese might also change with the time. If this hold true, the above argument doesn't hold water.

Secondly, Was the survey hold hundred pecent accuracy.? The auther haven't mention any data about the survey. The number of people and place where the survey has done, are completely not mention in the passage. What if the survey has done among the people who eat cheese once a year.? This ways of thinking makes the authors conclusion weak.

Futhermore, What if the scarcity of the imported cheese might rise the demand of that cheese. There is possiblility of high rise in demand of the imported cheese after removing the stock of these cheese as we know that scarcity rises the demand of any materials. And if this true, the stores will not be able to provide and meet the instant demands of imported cheese. This will make the store rather loss in their bussiness. Perhaps, the authors might also have to think about the future rather than focusing on the present unusal trends.

To sum up, the arguments as stands now is dubious as the author fails and lacks many logicals flaws with data and research. If the author have mention the data of people mention in the survey and the methodology of survey as well as give the answers of above asked questions , then it is possible to analyse the authors conclusion.