The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

“During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.”

The experts claim that if the work-shifts are shortened by an hour each, it would help reduce significantly the number of on-the-job accidents. This conclusion is arrived from the evidence that the number of incidents at Panoply Industries is 30% lesser since their work shifts are one hour shorter and their workers are not deprived of sleep. However, the experts make some unstated assumptions in arriving at the conclusion given the evidence. They are as follows.

Firstly, they assume that the accidents are mainly caused by the mistakes the workers make due to sleep deprivation which could be flawed. They could be using bad machinery which carries more risk of accidents in contrast to Panoply industries whose machinery could be in good condition. Hence, the use of good machinery and safe practises also play a major role in reducing accidents which the experts don't take into account. For instance, even if the workers are very much attentive and keen, if the overall practises followed are risky, the accident rates would continue to be the same.

Secondly, they assume that the workers would sleep in the 1 hour i.e. the reduced time of their shifts which is a slightly frivalous assumption to make. The workers might be devoting the extra time for their family or do some household chores and therefore still result in sleep deprivation leading to fatigue. This therefore would not solve the purpose thereby not affecting the numbers in any way.

Thirdly, they believe that if the workers get adequate amount of sleep, the accidents would reduce which is again slightly prescient. The cause for the incidents could have been due to the labour being careless or lazy which would obviously repeat even if they are not sleep deprived. Hence, the fact that they get adequate amount of sleep would not help the cause and the percentages would not change.

Finally, the comparison that the experts make between Panoply industries and Alta Manufacturing is not completely fair since they could not be equal in terms of a variety of factors. There could be differentiating conditions in the factories for example which could be a reason for the fatigue or pose as a challenge to the health of the workers of Alta Manufacturing. The work shifts although less than an hour in Panoply, could lead to more work pressure which inturn makes their workers more prone to fatigue than those in Alta manufacturing.

Therefore, the statement that the experts claim is flawed in many ways. However, they should hold extensive research on the workers and the factory front to cover all of the flaws mentioned above which could help them come to a more informed conlusion to take the necessary steps to reduce the accidents. The evidence collected would provide more clues if the excess incidents were actually due to the fatigue caused by sleep deprivation for the workers.