The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

Here the author is stating that if the shopping mall access roads get done by Appian Roadways then they will not have to be repaired for at least four long years. This prediction by the author is based on reasons not strong enough to be cogent for a number of reasons.

First of all, perhaps the particular section of Route 40 which was paved by Appian Roadways has not been used much and thus has not required any repair in more than four years. Whereas, the access roads of new shopping malls will be busy on a regular basis as shopping malls are center of attraction to the public. Thus it cannot be assumed that shopping mall roads will not be needing any retouch in a long period of time.

Moreover, buying a state-of-the-art paving machinery by a Roadway company does not necessarily mean that the company is going to provide quality work. It can be a case that the company has actually purchased a second-hand or a faulty machinery just as a show-off to attract customers. Or even if the machinery is of best quality, then even the quality of work by the association is not guaranteed, because in order to use a machine properly, experienced employees are needed who knows how to operate the machine properly to provide work of high standard.

All in all, hiring a new quality-control manager does not also assure great work by the association. The new manager can be a fresher with very little or no experience. In fact, the Appian Roadways may actually have only one quality-control manager, which is this new manager, and perhaps a greater number of quality-control manager is needed to monitor a laborious work of making the access roads of shopping malls.

Finally, it can be concluded that people might choose Appian Roadways on Good Intentions Roadways based on the already existing work examples of both the Roadways. However, the author’s argument of getting quality work from Appian Roadways which will not be needing any retouch for four years at minimum is not convincing with the reasons he argued on.