The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo represents comparison between two Roadways companies, one is Good Intentions and other is Appian. The Good Intentions Road paved road on Route 101 two years ago and now the condition is very bad where as in route 40 the Appian Roadways paved road four years ago and still it is in good condition. On the basis of it, the vice president of a shopping mall construction company decided the Appian Roadways is better option for construction of roads all around new shopping malls. Before taking final decision, the vice president should answer the following questions which predict opposite scenario than he is considering currently.

Moreover, the roads are public properties, and everyone use it so, it should be made with high quality material to maintain for long-term. At the same time the construction of roads depends on government or public representative to lead the city and they decide the budget for construction. There is possibility that the Route 101 constructed in low-budget in comparison of Route 40. The Good Intentions Roadways had completed work in low-budget are per that times requirements so, we cannot say they are not good in their work.

Furthermore, the vice president assumes that Appian access road will not have to be repaired for at least four years. Without any evidence one cannot assume the road will not damage. There are different conditions such as damage in pipe line or heavy rainfall, a greater number of vehicles passing from road especially heavy vehicles. The Good Intentions access road may be main connecting road of different colonies and there is traffic and always busy with passers that’s why is becoming cracked or due to heavy rain fall there are number of dangerous potholes. While in Appian access roads the number of vehicles passes by were very few and it is not too much used by people. The strong evidences are required for Appian access road to prove it is best.

Additionally, in the given memo there is no research data or statistical report which prove that the Appain Roadways are better than Good Intentions. Behind every action there are different factors similarly, there are also above discussed factors and data related to accessibility of the road is not mentioned. So, the questions raised on recommendation of vice president that what are concrete facts which prove Appain Roadways are better than other one?

Finally, above points clarifies that the recommendation is based on predictions of vice presidents. Before selection of Roadways company, the Vice president should collect strong evidences to select one and then construct access roads for all new shopping malls.