The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Pests are menaces to food storage warehouses. They walk all over the food, eat bits and portions of it, and renders them absolutely unsaleable. That is why it is important for food distribution companies to hire the best yet most affordable pest control company. A particular food company hired Fly-Away Pest Control Company to service their warehouse in Palm City and Buzzoff Pest Control in Wintervale. Although the former company provided services at a lower price, the Vice President noted more damage found in the Palm City warehouse than in Wintervale, thus, coming to the conclusion that they would save more money with the latter company. In order to check the argument, one must consider several pieces of evidence before coming to such a conclusion.

First of all, the Vice President should investigate the maintenance level of each warehouse. In other words, how well are the conditions of both Palm City and Wintervale warehouses being taken care of? Let us say the managers of Wintervale are investing more time and effort in keeping their warehouse clean. They hired more cleaning staff, have scheduled for more cleaning sessions, and are checking more regularly on the conditions of any equipment they may have, compared to the other managers. This is a critical piece of evidence because less maintenance means greater ease for pests to come in. It also means that the loss of damage was not due to the efforts of the pest control company but to the lack of maintenance and care from the Palm City managers. Even if the food distribution company were to switch to Buzzoff for their Palm City location, if it is not being taken care of then the pests will continue to cause chaos. With that in mind, the evidence would weaken the argument.

In addition, the food distribution must analyze the size of the pest population within the city. If Palm City is located a larger pest population, then it would make more sense for more damages to be found in this site. A larger city population can equate to a larger number of pests evading the warehouse. Again, this is a critical piece of evidence because switching pest control companies would not matter in the end. In fact, it may lead to worse outcomes. If Buzzoff cannot nor have the equipment to fend off Palm City’s large pest population, compared to Fly-Away Pest, then there could be damages exceeding $20,000 and the company would lose even more money. Therefore, the argument would be weakened.

Before making the switch for their Palm City location, the Vice President must launch an investigation that considers a few factors. First, the Vice President and the rest of the company must consider if the warehouses are at similar levels of maintenance. Then, they must analyze the pest population within the overall city. Such factors must be considered if the company wants to hire the best pest control company at the most affordable cost.