The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, it is stated that the Dura-Sock company can make more profit by ceasing to utilize its patented Endure manufacturing process. The vice president has come to this conclusion based on a study which dictates that the customers buy new socks every three months anyway, and according to a survey the customers are more interested in the variety of colors and styles the company offers. However, these studies and surveys do not tell the complete story as they are mere assumptions. Some more analyses need to be done before ruling out the said manufacturing process.

First of all, the credibility of the 'new study' that the vice president mentions remains unproven. The vice president assumes that the study was carried out with a very high degree of accuracy which is completely unfounded. What if the people responsible for the study did not do a credible job? The credence of the inquiry should also be taken into account. Furthermore, there is no mention of the sample space for the mentioned study. If the number of customers analysed was very small, then the result of the study is not representative of the overall customer base of the company. If either of these scenarios holds true, then the conclusion drawn significantly weakens.

Secondly, did the survey take into account consumers of all age group? It is possible that only young individuals took part in the survey which has the potential to influence its output heavily. As the memo suggests that the customers care more about the colors rather than the durability, and it being the trait of the young population to misplace their belongings and, therefore, buy new ones, it is not hard to see that the customers surveyed were young people. Moreover, young people tend to lay more focus on the trivial qualities of products like their color and looks over more important traits such as the durability. Bearing these facts in mind, it is not difficult to say that the survey may have included more of the younger generation. If these assumptions are indeed true, then they cast serious doubt on the conclusion drawn by the vice president.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the company does go forward with the vice president's decision of not using the Endure manufacturing process, then it could have a negative impact on the company's profits.