The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author assumes that because the higher accident rate in Quiot Manufacturing results from higher work shifts, reducing the work shifts can decrease the work accident rate in Quiot Manufacturing; However, some problematic inferences make the assumption dubious.

To begin with, the author relies on data to assume that the accidents in Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more than the accidents in Panoply Industries; However, this data does not mention the work types of Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries. Specifically, Quiot Manufacturing might be a labor-intensive industry, while Panoply Industries might be a semi-automation. Then, it is reasonable that Quiot Manufacturing’s accident rate is higher than Panoply Industries; And these two companies cannot be compared. Thus, the assumption from data is valueless, since the types of the two companies might be different.

Another dubious assumption that the author relied on is that the causal relationship between the shorter work shifts and the lower accident rate in Panoply Industries. It’s highly possible that other factors contributed to the lower accident rate in Panoply Industries. For instance, the lower accident rate in Panoply Industries might have resulted from high-quality management in Panoply Industries. It is also likely that skillful workers in Panoply Industries caused lower accident rate in Panoply Industries. Lacking evidence that links the shorter work shifts and the lower accident rate, it is presumptuous to assume that the lower accident rate were responsible for the shorter work shifts.

Further, the editor’s recommendation depends on the assumption that no factors other than the higher work shifts will cause inadequate amounts of sleep; However, a myriad of other factors, including insomnia and bad living habit, might be the cause of the inadequate amounts of sleep. To be specific, if the workers have insomnia and bad living habit, the shorter work shifts are useless because it is not the main problems of accidents. Without ruling out these and other possible causes, the editor cannot justifiably conclude that only by shorting the work shifts can getting adequate amounts of sleep.

To sum up, the author’s assumption that since workers are lacking adequate amounts of sleep, reducing work shifts will result in lower accidents is problematic. If the author offers some pieces of cogent evidence: what types of company Panoply Industries and Quiot Manufacturing is, another evidence that links the shorter work shifts and the lower accident rate, and considering other factors, including insomnia and bad living habit, this assumption will be more reasonable.