The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguer claimed that, the Panoply Industries plant has lesser on-the-job accidents due to their shorter work shifts, so the work shifts of Quiot Manufacturing should decrease as well. There are some assumptions in this argument that need to be looked more closely into.

First, the arguer implied that shorter work shifts can increase rest time and prevent sleep deprivation. However, the arguer seemed to assume that by reducing the work shifts, the workers would sleep longer instead of having fun. If the assumption is wrong, that is, workers choose to have fun during the extra free time, their sleep time would not increase, so the problem of sleep deprivation and fatigue remains.

The number of on-the-job accidents at Panoply Industries plant are cited to show that their plant is safer. The arguer assume that lower on-the-job accidents indicates safer plants. The assumption can be problematic. For example, maybe the Panoply Industries plant has much lesser workers, so the number of accidents is unsurprisingly lower. Also, it may be the case that Panoply Industries plant do not honestly report accidents to prevent legal actions taken against the firm. The arguer's assumption that lesser on-the-job accidents indicates safer plants need to be further explained; otherwise, the arguments would be based on wrong statistics and therefore is not convincing.

Moreover, the arguer suggested that the lower on-the-job accidents is caused by the shorter work shifts. Correlations do not imply causations. While it may be true that the shorter work shifts give rise to lower on-the-job accidents, there are also other plausible explanation. For example, maybe they have more comprehensive safety instructions, the workers are better trained, or their manufacturing processes are not as dangerous as Quiot Manufacturing's. The shorter workshift may only be one of the factor or even not a factor at all. The argument relies on the assumption that shorter work shifts are the main reason or the only factor that lead to lower on-the-job accidents, and if the assumption is erronous, the argument breaks down.

Finally, the arguer assume that the experiences at Panoply Industries plant can be transferred to Quiot Manufacturing. There can be many reason making the it not trasferrable. The products they produce, the scales of the factories, the funding of the firms can all influences the feasibility to adopt shorter work shifts. The arguer's assumption that Quiot Manufacturing can adopt shorter work shifts and can be as effective needs more evidence to be substantiated.

To make the argument more convincing, the arguer should clarify the claims to the assumptions mentioned above.