The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company. "When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited

In this memo, the author contends that it would not be proper that if the XYZ company change their working partener company Delany Personnel Firm with the less cost company- Walsh Personnel Firm.

He tells us as an laid-off employees service provider, the Delany did great job last year, the people laid off from XYZ company who got the help of Delany offered, including creating resume and developing interviewing skills,benefit a lot, in that they found jobs again than those who did not got the help from Delany company. Meanwhile, the clients of Delany found jobs within six months in average while the Walsh's clients took nine. Moreover, the Walsh company cooperated with XYZ eight years ago, their inferior jobs in helping laid-off employees paled in their less cost. But the author's assumption is problematic, there are some loopholes in the statement, we need to evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, the author does not tell us the condition of the XYZ company as well as the development of Walsh. Eight years passed, what happened to both of the companies is in question, thus we could not conclude that the Walsh company could not compete with the Delany company. Also, without the condition of the XYZ company, we do not know how has this company developed in eight years. Maybe the XYZ was a firm which sold rubbers while now it sells cellphones like Nokia. In that it is important to know the workers' performance in the company, maybe eight years ago, the Walsh was not good at training these laid-off employees due to the certain kind of work among these laid-off people. While now, as the infromation given in the memo, we could not make a determined conclusion that which Personnnel Firm is the better choice for the XYZ company.

In addtion, the scale of the laid-off worker metioned in the passage is not accurate. In that it is important to know how many laid-off workers who received the help from these two Personnel Firm takes in part of the whole laid-off workers. This criterion is a significant standard to judge the perfromances of these two companies. Another catergory problem is that the author does not metion how does he compare the numbers of the laid-off workers who received assistance with those who not. In that may be the laid-off workers may find other jobs out of the original field of the XYZ, while the Personnel Firms still provided the service to these employees in order to let them get back to their previous work. Thus the comparisons mentioned in the statement are not convincing.

In all, the atuhor's idea is not convicing. To make his assumption more compelling, he should make a wider survey to find out which company is better.