The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguement briefly states that a memorandum briefly states the audience of WWAC radio station has decreased due to certain factors. The enumerated factors are increased retired population and interest of the new population in different type of music. It also describes the decrease in number of sales of music record have decreased in local stores and thereby concludes that the people of this area are no more interested in music in general, hence the radio should shut down it's current rock-music format and change to a news and talk format to reverse the decline in number of listeners. I believe that this arguement is heavily flawed for the following reasons.

Firstly, the arguement assumes that just because the population is mostly comprised of old resident, they will not be interested in rock and roll music. The scenario maybe entirely different, maybe they love such music but the timing of the current radio station program does not align with their schedule. Maybe the current format does not include a lot of bands which the population listens to or they play the same songs over and over. On the other hand, even if the retired population does not enjoy present rock format, there is no guarantee that if shifted to a talk format, they will actually listen to the radio. It could be that they would enjoy peaceful and soothing music while relaxing.

Secondly, arguement bases the decline in listeners on the lack of sales of recorded music sales in local stores. I believe this to be vague, because there could be many factors which could account for this decline. A few being that these stores may not be catering to the likes of the population and do not have newer records. The location of the stores maybe odd, hence keeping in mind that majority of the opulation is old, they may not want to travel to a store in order to listen to music and prefer other modes in order to satisfy their musical needs. We should also take into account that these retired people have family members who might have introduced them to platforms such as Spotify and Apple music which caters to the needs of people more efficiently. These platforms not only offer an eclectic choice of music but also have numerous podcasts to listen to in leisure time.

Thirdly, there is no proof that a news and talk format will actually be a success just because it is popular. The arguement assumes that the population will immediately adapt and like a new show without any publicity, or that they would leave their trusted new channels to listen to a radio show. Many households might not have radios anymore as in today's world they are almost obselete and an antique used for decoration.

Finally, to summarize, I feel that this arguement baseless and just because a news and talk format is more famous and growing does not mean it will be sucessfull in gaining more listeners, the WWAC radio station in the process may actually lose some of its true rock music listeners in the process too. They should work on the current program and try to make it better, rather than making any whimsical decisions on the basis of new trends, expecting sudden surge in listeners.