The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Cafe, a small local coffee shop in the downtown area of small American city:

"We must reduce overhead here at the cafe. Instead of opening at 6 a.m weekdays, we will now open 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won't be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to asses the reasonableness of both the prediction and argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of Juiper Café, is suggesting to limit the hours of operations during weekdays and weekends, and as a result pay less money for utilities and employees and predicts to save more money. However, the prediction relies on several assumptions for which there is no evidence and therefore the argument is flawed. In order to validate the owner’s prediction, three questions must be answered.

First, will the costumers, who used to come to Juiper Café early in the morning during weekdays, be able to come later during the new hours of operation? Maybe, during the week days, some costumers could visit the café only on their commuting to work, in this case shutting the café on those hours will lead them to find another alternative. Perhaps, for morning people and ethlete costumers, this café was perceived as a place with flexible hours, giving them the chance to grap a cop of coffe or have an early breakfast before heading to their morning routines. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, are the costs during the old schedule higher than the revenue? In weekedns, where people have a vast free time to spend outside, maybe the majority of the Juiper Café’s revenue was made during weekends, and limiting times of operation will decrease the earnings. Perhaps the new schedule will give the idea to people that they are limited in their time to spend in this café, and therefore will look for other flexible scedules in other cafés. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, If either of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it currently stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the owner is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a survey or a systematic study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed prediction that the decrease in the hours of operations will be better economically. Unless additional evidence is provided, the readers of the memorandum will find the argument unpersuasive.