The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the presented memorandum, the owner of Movies Galore recommends that the chain reduce its operating hours across the board to improve profits. At first sight, the argument appears logical; however, on closer inspection, it rests upon a few unwarranted assumptions that lack clarity and evidence. The owner reviewed and adjusted this recommendation in consideration of the following points, he or she could make a more compelling case for it.

Moreover, the owner took decision to change the storing opening times on the basis of store in downtown Marston, where the owner reduced timing from 9:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. There are ten such stores and profit from each store varies with population nearby. It may be possible the customers near downtown Marston get free from work before 6:00 p.m. and they have not much unconvinced with store timing. That will be a strong reason for clearance of stock even the store opened for short time. it is not possible that all stores will be run like this one because clearance of stock depend on customers nature and convenience.

Furthermore, the given argument seems to be weakened when the Movies Galore's owner ignore the customers complain. He said there are few complaints regarding timings of the store, but it does not mean the few complaints are not important. It may happen that customers don't have time to send complaint or may they ignore to post feedback. If the owner has few complaints even, then the owner should pay attention on it because there is plausible that regular customers sent that complaint. To reduce timing of the stores is not a good option to regain the profit.

Finally, because of declining profit the owner decided that to reduce store timing is not appropriate without solid evidences. When problem solved with analyses of difficulty then the solution will be effective. Owner must analyses the reason behind declining the profit may because of lacking the selling skills of the workers or the quality of movie's DVD. Without solid evidences we cannot assume the solution is perfect and similarly to generalize one remedy to all is not fruitful.

In summary, while the argument is not entirely invalid, it is rife with assumptions that could seriously undermine the validity of the business recommendation. It could be corroborated if the owner provided specific and relevant evidence to address the aforementioned points.