The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that in order to increases profits the mentioned company want to implement some changes at their stores to decrease its operating expenses. They want to reduce the electricity bill and overtime wages of their workers by closing store at 6 pm. They want to reduce its inventory cost by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. There are some questions needed to be answered to decide whether the claim will bring the predicted results.

Are there any large number of customers flow in between 6pm to 9pm? If it is Yes, then it will not be a good idea to close the stores at that period. At weekend days, should the shop be opened at that period? This question's answer is also needed. Good statistic data are needed for this situation.

Is there any group of customers who seeks the old movies which released more than 5 years ago? If it is Yes, then the shops should not eliminate old movies. They should also focus on various classes based on age. They can have a section of some old famous movies. If customers want to buy a old famous movie, then he/she will not be disappointed after coming their store. It will be helpful to keep up the customers from going to another company's store.

Are residents of the places where the stores are located have inclined to online video streaming companies such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, HBO etc.? If it is Yes, then the company's above plans to increase profit will not be workable at any way. They should think a new way to keep the customers. It can be a new online streaming company they have to open. Otherwise they can not compete with the advanced world.

To assess the merits of a situation or decision, it is essential to know the all contributing factors otherwise this kind of argument remains unsubstantiated. To implement their two plans, is badly needed to have the answers of the questions mentioned above.