The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author believes that construction of new generating plants are not necessary. He has come to this conclusion because he believes there will be an overall decrease in total demand of electricity. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, there are three unwarranted assumptions that must be brought to light.

First, the author assumes that the survey responses are honest and accurate. It is possible that some home owners are not actually concerned with conserving energy, but felt compelled to provide a noble response. Perhaps some surveyors did not actually pay attention to the question and were simply filling in random responses. If any of the above are true, then most home owners are not interested in conserving energy, therefore it would be unlikely that they would invest in energy efficient appliances or solar heating. Consequently, the authors argument would not hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that home owners will purchase energy efficient appliances and new solar heating technology. Perhaps these appliances cost well over a thousand dollars more than the appliances that consume twice as much energy. It is also possible that some home owners do not need to replace their home heating system, and therefore would rather not waste additional money on installing passive solar heating. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the authors argument would be significantly weakened.

Lastly, the author assumes that, even with energy saving appliances and passive solar heating, that the total demand for energy will decrease. Nonetheless, is it possible that those who invested in these energy saving technologies are now leaving their heater and applieances on for longer durations than they did before. If this case is true, then they may be using equally as much energy as they did before. As a result, weakening the authors argument

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence to back up the assumptions made in his original argument, then his recommendation to cease the construction of new generating plants may be reasonable.