The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Health and fitness are two important matters for a longevity. While health trends are increasingly popular, there have been a substantial growth in companies that provide healthy foods and healthy products. Although the vice president of Health Naturally states some reasonable assumption, the memorandum does not fully provide sufficient supporting data to build stores in Plainsville.

Countless people make purchases on items to better themselves physically, but often these items are left to collect dust. The vice president mentions that Plansville has had an increase in sales for running shoes and exercise equipment are at all time high. There is no proof that residents are using these products or even for the right purpose. People buy running shoes to wear to work or just to run errands because these shoes provide the best support. There should be data collected by surveying residents the type of health equipment they have, if they own any runnings and/or how often these things are used for what it is made for. Stating that sales for health related products are at it’s peak doesn’t necessarily correlate to increase health concerns.

With more members than before and continuously full classes, this doesn’t exactly justify the success of the local gym with more health conscious residents. The gym could have been doing poorly many years due to better gyms in the area. Perhaps the other gyms closed down and push all of the people to this one. Also, how many more members are we talking about here? It is 10 more? 50? 100? The vice president vaguely presented this information without providing the exact number of define such a substantial growth in the health gym. Perhaps the gym also has less classes offered and therefore, members are pushed to concentrate the few class they have to choose from. The booming success of the local gym provided insufficient data to conclude towards the vice president’s standpoint.

It’s important to instill healthy foundation in children at a young age, but it does not prosper within every children. As time change, it is not guaranteed that many of children will continue a fitness lifestyle. Since there is so many emphasis on education and academic, many students forgo the importance of health. This can also be seen in siblings from the same household. Parents try to build the same foundation for all of their children, but everyone grows up to be different. The program might reach out to several of the school children, but there is no proof is will bring forth an entire generation of healthy concerned customers.

Base on the several assumptions made, it cannot justify that many Plainsville residents are as concerned about their health habits as the vice president mentions. There is no actual concrete data that Health Naturally will be successful in this area.