The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Acoording to the published article, A study on 300 mean and women was conducted comparing the average number of hours they slept at night to and the success of their firms. The study showed that that executives of firms that slept no more thna 6 hours per night had higher profit margins and faster growth.Therefore, the arguer suggest that in order to prosper, they shoud hire people who require less than 6 hours of sleep.However, the resoning of the arguer is flawed and the data presented in the article is insufficient enough to make such an assertion.

Firstly, the information is given regarding the work experience of the executives considered under the study.There may be a chance that most of the the executives are new joinees, therefore taking a larger amount of time complete a given assigment under a specific deadline resulting in long working hours and less sleep hours reducing the overall sleep average.Hence, the efficiency of these executives is less and hirng them wouldn't contribute in enhacing business.

Sencondly, other factors such as overtime, extra leaves etc are also not taken into consideration.It may be possible that thefirms in which executives getting no more than 6 hours of sleep work must be offering them 3 or more days of leave instead of just the weekend or paying them generously for the overtime.In such cases,when the reward is high people will tend to work more. So, in this case giving incentives to its employees will motivate them to work harder rather than just hiring people on the assumption that they will work overtime for no reason.

In recapitualtion, with the resonings provided above it will be rather rash on the arguer part to just assume that by hirirng people who require less than 6 hours of sleep will make the business grow fatser. No solid evidence is provided to prove the claim.Rather, for a business to grow, it should provide a friendly office enviorment with great perks rather rather than just expecting its employess to work endlessy without any benefits.