The following appeared as part of a newspaper editorial:

"Two years ago Nova High School began to use interactive computer instruction in three academic subjects. The school dropout rate declined immediately, and last year's graduates have reported some impressive achievements in college. In future budgets the school board should use a greater portion of the available funds to buy more computers, and all schools in the district should adopt interactive computer instruction throughout the curriculum."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

This argument claims that the school board should spend more funds on computers and all the schools in the district should adopt interactive computer to instruct students on the curriculum. The evidence cited to support this conclusion is that the school dropout rate has declined since Nova High School adopted interactive computer instruction in three academic subjects two years ago and there're some impressive achievements reported in last year's graduates. I don't agree with this argument, however, reasons are as following:

First of all, the author readily assumes that the usage of interactive computer instruction is the main cause of declining dropout rate. Although adopting interactive computer could have some positive impacts on the student's academic performance, it's not necessary the only factor that result in the change of dropout rate. There are some other factors that should be taken into consideration. For example, Nova High School may have hired teachers with good experience and knowledge so that the students can learn more from the class. Another reason could be the increase hours in class forcing students to study more on daily basis.

Moreover, the argument stated that last year's graduates have reported some impressive achievements in college and it readily considers that this is resulted from the interactive computer instruction. However, the author fails to establish the correlation between graduates' performance and the adoption of interactive computer instruction and it’s not clear whether those graduates’ good performance is related to those specific subjects. The achievement mentioned may be related to some sport activities or other subjects which do not involve the interactive computer instruction. Also, it could be possible that the school has run some training programs to help the students better prepare themselves for the college.

In sum, it would be prudent for the school to adopt the interactive computer instruction throughout the curriculum with the evidence provided. To make proper conclusion, the author would have to rule out the other factors that might result in the declined dropout rate and the better performance of last year's graduates.