The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguments made in this petition are fallacious and possibly dangerous. The entire paragraph is full of end of the world type speech that is meant to scare the general public into signing this petition. We will see how this sale of land and erection of a small hotel could actually help the bird populations more than anything else.

As stated in the argument against the hotel, this is a small percentage of land. This assumes that there is still much more land left for the bird populations. The assumption that the loss of a small portion of land would simply decimate bird populations is not grounded in ornithological sciences at all. Many birds rely on varying landscapes to survive as only one source of food or shelter could result in disaster if that source were depleted. The birds understand that and adapt to rely on a myriad of sources and supplies to stay alive. This will not be interrupted by the hotel and may even provide some of those sources with landscaping and perches for raptor species to hunt over.

The Smith corporation is already doing all that they can to appease and protect this preserve. They have already stated to preserve the sanctuary and the erection of this hotel could even be good for the bird species. The hotel could these rooms after local species and have feeders outside of the windows to assist in the tourism generated by this hotel. The tourists that do come to see these species would, I'm sure, be thrilled to see some of these treasured species from the comfort of their rooms since they are the primary reason for visitation.

The Smith corporation would generate tourism dollars and tax revenue for the entire community but especially for the Yougtown Wildlife Preserve, as that would be the main draw for the tourists. This would give the preserve more money for proper management of this preserve. The preserve could even partner with Smith in the future to provide guided bird watching tours or opportunities for guests to learn about proper avian management from those who truly know what that entails.

That brings us to my final point. The Youngtown Wildlife Preserve has the right to buy and sell land as with many entities. As a wildlife preserve it should take into account the species they manage for as a first priority. If after discussion internally they have found that the sell of this land will not negatively effect these populations, then that should be the choice that is made. These are the professionals in the area and they should have the best idea about what it would take to manage for these species. They could also be other reasons for the sell of land like, layoffs effecting how much land they can properly care for, or budget concerns. These should all be factored into the decision making process and we should respect the decision that is made by the preserve, whichever decision that it.