The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The petition sent by an environmental protection group to residents of Youngtown concludes that the Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is a part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. It mentions that the sale of the land will have various disastrous effects on the bird species in the area. However, this petition rests on few assumptions which might be flawed, unless the protection group answers the following the three questions.

First, how can the small percentage of the land sold to the Smith Corporation have egregious consequences to the whole area. The group assumes that the Corporation's development in the small land will cause disastrous effects on the bird species of the area. Perhaps, this might not be the case at all. The small land might be far away from the bird sanctuary. There is also possiblilty that the Smith Corporation take a proper care of the environment around the land or maybe have a healthy environment for the birds after all.

Second, the group assumes that there are no alternative ways in which the deal will benefit the community. The community of Yountown may however, make a deal which benefits both, the corporation and the sanctuary. They may ask the company to avoid usage of any materials that harm the environment or birds in any way. Moreover, they can ask the company to grow more trees or perform no activities that cause pollution in the area. They can also maintain few ground rules or strict environment policies which benefit everyone.

Third, how does it guarantee that the small hotel will not bring tourists to the sanctuary in any manner? The protection group presumes that the small hotel by the company may bring anything but harm to the sanctuary. There may a slight chance that the small hotel might attract more tourists than the community does at this moment. Tourism may in fact, get better if such small hotels are allowed in the area. This not only benfits the community but is also a potential way in which the protection group or sanctuary can spread bird survival awareness with the mass.

To conclude, the petition from the protection group can answer the above mentioned questions and even provide evidence and proof to support their assumptions.