The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

In petition sent to residents of Youngtown, author concludes the Smith Corportation should not be permitted to develop the land that is part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve as they can do no good to the community which depends completely on tourists who visit to watch birds. The author's conclusion includes three main assumption which needs to be cleared up before the statement can be treated as veracious.

Firstly, it is assumed that the small portion of land sold to the Smith will be disastrous for the Youngtown Sanctuary but, it is not elaborated how? It can be the case that land purchased by the Smith Corporation is at the outskirts of wildlife sanctuary where no birds go as the land is barren in nature. If the previous example holds for the given assumption then it makes the argument weak.

Secondly, it is assumed that small hotel that will be built on that land will do more harm than good. However, there is no evidence backing up this claim. It is possible that, environmental protection group has some resentment with the smith corporation resultant of that is the petition. It can also be the case, that hotel will be beneficial for the bird population as there will be more food leftover from the hotel to feed the birds. If any of the two cases hold for this assumption then it will make the argument weaker.

Thirdly, author assumes that the hotel will do no good for the community which lives off of birdwatching tourists. Alternatively, it is possible that the hotel will provide a comfortable stay for the tourist which will eventually lead to more tourist attending the birdwatcing at Youngtown wildlife Sancutary. This will ultimately benefit the community of youngtown. If the previous case hold true for this assumption then it will make the author's argument weakest.

The argument made in the petition to youngtown residents is flawed with various assumptions and it requires evidence to justify it's claims. If author fails to address the assumptions, it will make the argument invalid.