The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The letter from the parent of a Kensington Academy's student tries to inform the principal about the low food quality of the academy's private vendor, Swift Nutrition. The conclusion of the letter is based on the premises that, Swift Nutrition serves low fat and low calorie meals and thus there will be serious health consequences for the students. However, in deeper analysis, it is evident that, certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

First of all, the letter urges the principle to replace the present private vendor because of serving lower food quality. The letter claims that, Swift Nutrition serves low fat and low calorie meals which the students do not find enjoyable. However, the author of the letter did not provide any concrete evidence from where she got the qualitative or quantitative nutritious information regarding the meals. Did the parent conduct any investigation from any lab or the claim is based on just speculation? If the claim is based on just speculation that the students do not find the meal enjoyable and thus the meals should be of low nutritious value, it will reduce the strength of the letter's claim. The author should have clarified that issue.

Another problem in the claim is that, it assumes, the reason to handover of the cafeteria to a private vendor was to provide students healthier foods. But we can not just hold that assumption true without any concrete evidence. There can be situation like, the academy management's main focus was to provide students average quality food at a lower price. The school can be situated at an area, where most of the students are from lower or middle class family and thus higher cost for the meal will be burdensome for them. So, the academy's main focus was to provide healthier food irrespective of cost is not a strong point to make base of the argument. The author of the letter should have provided more information regarding management's intention to substantiate his viewpoints.

Moreover, the child of the letter writer may like some specific food like Chaomin, which may not be served by the vendor. In that case, the child would find other foods less enjoyable. So, we should know more information on that issue of available meals.

Lastly, to conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide irrational assumptions. The author of the letter should have provided more concrete evidence like the nutritious value of the meals and management intentions to substantiate the letter's viewpoints and to make the argument a cogent one.